Bacon and smoothies and cookies, oh my!

Right now, I’m sitting on a train. Eating bacon. This is what I mean by having a ridiculous amount of wtf moments since discovering paleo. Wtf am I doing eating bacon out of a ziploc bag on a train? Shouldn’t a normal girl be eating yogurt or carrots or drinking a diet coke or something? But then I realize, being paleo is WAY better than being normal. Why would you want to be normal when you can be that weird girl eating bacon on a train? Plus, bacon is delicious.

Look, I'm on a train!

Look, I’m on a train!

IMG_1566Why am I on a train, you ask? I’m going to see my best friend Alison up at Western Washington University, in Bellingham, WA. This is a 6 hour train ride, on which, I told myself I would do homework. But then the train had wifi, and listening to music and eating bacon and writing about myself sounded way more fun.

I’m so incredibly excited to see Alison. We’ve been best friends for 13 or so years now, ever since fate brought us together on the “Kickin’ Kernals” soccer team in elementary school (retrospectively, what a weird team name). Since going to college, I very rarely get to see her – that’s what happens when 3,000 miles separates you. So when the chance arises, I will sit through a 6 hour train ride just to hang out for 2 days.

Enough about Alison – you’ll here a lot more about her once my visit is over.

Back to this morning. I woke up feeling so incredibly disgusting. I don’t normally feel compelled to work out, but that’s when I’m being a real person and getting in some form of exercise walking around campus, etc. After sitting around a house for 4 days and eating way too much non-paleo deliciousness (which was totally worth it), I knew I needed to stop being lazy and start being a real person.

Warmup: 5 minutes of running up and down the stairs, jumping jacks, and running back and forth in my house. Unconventional, but effective.

Workout: “Death by burpees”. Minute 1: do 1 burpee. Minute 2: do 2 burpees. Minute 3: do 3 burpees. Continue until you can’t finish the required number in the minute allowed. I made it through 9 minutes before I thought my heart would burst/lungs would pop/muscles would die. I’m really out of shape.

Cooldown: Walked around the neighborhood with my dog (approximately 1 mile).

It’s amazing how effective a short workout can be. Only making it through 9 rounds of burpees felt pretty sad (my crossfitter friend can make it through 18), but that just means there’s room for improvement, right? I can’t wait to join a crossfit gym soon and actually get in shape.

For my postworkout meal, I experimented with another green smoothie.

Blueberry Spinach Smoothie

  • Lots of spinach
  • Some frozen blueberries
  • 3 raw eggs
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Water
    IMG_1536

    Pre-blending spinach volume

    Post-blending spinach volume

    Post-blending spinach volume

IMG_1538

I was also going to add some lemon, but we ran out apparently. Sorry for the lack of measurements, I just kind of added things and adjusted amounts until it was at a taste/consistency that I liked. It turned out pretty disgusting looking again, but tasted pretty good. Not in a fruit/sugar laden smoothie way, but in a “hey I’m putting a lot of awesome nutrients into my body” way.

I also made some very non-paleo chocolate chip oatmeal walnut cookies. These cookies are one thing I will never ever ever give up, no matter how strictly I eventually follow paleo guidelines otherwise. They’re home, childhood, family. And really freaking good. I couldn’t be at home and not make them, and it was perfect timing so that I could bring some up to Alison and her roommates.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Walnut Cookies

Essentially the recipe off the Nestle chocolate chip bag (not original, but so, so good)

  • 2 ¼ cup flour
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 2 sticks of butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (I used 60% Ghirardelli)
  • 1 cup walnuts

I used a KitchenAid mixer, but everything could easily be mixed by hand.

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter
  3. Add sugar and brown sugar, mix
  4. Add eggs
  5. At this point, the recipe says to sift all your dry ingredient together. I usually just add the baking soda, salt, and vanilla in, and then slowly add the flour. Doesn’t seem to make any difference, and saves a bowl.
  6. Add oats/chocolate chips/walnuts
  7. Make approximately 1 inch balls of dough, but on ungreased baking sheet
  8. Bake 7-9 minutes, depending on how gooey/crunchy you like your cookies

This time, I made half the batch with nuts and half without, because Alison doesn’t like cookies with nuts (see how much I love her).

IMG_1550IMG_1551IMG_1553IMG_1555IMG_1556

I ate cookies and milk (and way too much dough while cooking) for lunch. It was glorious.

xoxo, imperfect me

Leave a Reply

