Summertime Saturdays

Happy long weekend everyone! It’s an exciting but strange feeling to have zero obligations until Tuesday. The short list of my plans includes: tanning, watching tv, sleeping, reading, cooking, eating, and making progress decorating my bedroom. It’s a pretty rough life.

I’ll do a bit of catchup since my last post (I had the best intentions of posting everyday, but then… I didn’t). Thursday I went to both of my jobs, then came home for an hour or so before I had to leave for CrossFit. My usual ride wasn’t going that evening, so I decided to bike there. It was a four mile bike ride, which seemed a little long, but doable. Word of caution: never buy a bike without first looking at it/trying it. I bought one from a mutual friend for $50 – turns out you get what you pay for. In the four miles to CrossFit, I had to put the chain back on about 5 times (the gears were supposed to automatically shift, but instead just kind of sucked). But I made it, and went on to do my Foundations class 3. We worked on situps and back extensions on the GHD, cleans, push presses, and deadlift, and then did an 8 minute AMRAP of 5 burpees and 10 wall balls. Once we hit the AMRAP, I realized that biking there was a bad choice – my legs were like jello. Luckily, I had someone pick me up from the gym, so didn’t have to endure another 4 mile bike back home.

That evening me and 2 friends went to a Krewella concert. If you don’t know who Krewella is, just imagine a rave. It was insanely fun, but we didn’t end up going to sleep until after 5 am. Which resulted in sleeping all day on Friday – nothing exciting to write about there.

This morning I woke up feeling a little tired, but much better than Friday. Went to CrossFit for a 10 am mobility workout, but the class was mysteriously not there, so my friend and I just did our own mobility work and then joined the rest of the gym for the WOD. Today we did “Michael”, which consisted of 3 rounds for time of an 800m run, 50 situps, and 50 back extensions. My abs were already incredibly sore from Thursday’s GHD work, so this was killer. I ended up finishing in 26:47, behind most of the rest of the class. But for my 4th time at CrossFit (recently), and 1st workout outside my Foundations classes, I felt like it went pretty well!

After CrossFit, I walked over to the Farmer’s Market, which is only a few blocks away, and picked up some sweet potatoes, broccoli, eggs, ground beef, and chicken. It feels really good to be buying not only organic/grassfed products, but also local ones. Just wish it was a little bit cheaper! I really can’t afford to be buying all organic, etc foods on a college student budget, but I’ve decided putting money into my health (CrossFit and good quality food) is a worthwhile investment.

To finish, here are a few pictures of some meals I made last week. I love cooking. I don’t understand how some people don’t like it. Two things I really wish that I could have: a Vitamix and food processor. Oh, and an ice cream machine. Which I think I will go buy on Amazon right after this. Justification: it’s better to make homemade paleo ice cream than buy store bought stuff. What, I shouldn’t be eating ice cream at all? Shhhhh….

pasta

Ground beef meat sauce with zucchini “noodles” – simple, but so so good.

bake 2

Sweet potato, sausage, spinach, and egg breakfast “lasagna”.

bake

Layered deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

