“Murph”

Last night I had a very strange throwback dream. In it, I was in my best friend from childhood’s house with her relatives and back at my old horse riding stables with my first horse. In my dream, I also missed the CrossFit workout for today. Cue 9:30 am alarm: FUCK. Did not actually miss CrossFit. Do I have to go? I don’t wanna I don’t wanna I don’t wanna.

Today’s workout was “Murph”, in honor of Michael Murphy and all others who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom. With this in mind, I feel bad complaining about the workout. But.. it sucked.

Rx Murph: 1 mile run, 100 pullups, 200 pushups, 300 air squats, 1 mile run

My Murph: 1 mile run, 50 ring pullups, 100 knee pushups, 150 air squats, 1 mile run

Even with my extreme scaling, I finished in 42:50, not a stellar time by any means. But for being new to CrossFit, I was pretty happy with that. On the last mile, I literally thought I was going to die – had to stop running in order to avoid a heart attack/burst lung. But I made it. And I feel like a true CrossFitter – knees got a little torn up from the pushups, and per recommendation from another athlete, I cut the extra torn skin off with nail clippers. Ew, but feels legit.

Now the plan is to celebrate Memorial Day with a BBQ and as little moving as possible. ‘merica.

Leave a Reply

