Wanted: Time Machine

Today, I felt weak. The skill portion of the workout included handstand pushups. HA. While there was a wide range of scaling throughout the class, from strict HSPU against the wall, to kipping, to pushups with your feet on a box, I was stuck attempting them totally on the ground. Problem: I was too inflexible to even come close to the posture demonstrated by the coach and too weak to do more than 2 or 3 in my attempted posture (similar to downward facing dog). I felt so damn weak. And angry at how weak I was.

Then, I felt average. The strength segment included push presses at 45%, 55%, 65%, and 75% of your 1 rep max. I shared a bar with 3 other women (the class was huge today), and we used 90# as our 1 RM, even though I had recently PRed at 80#. And I kept up. The last sets at 75% felt pretty heavy, but I did them. We were probably the lightest bar out of the class, but I felt decent about it.

Finally, I felt strong. The MetCon was:

40 Deadlifts
Run 200
30 Power Clean
Run 200
20 Front Squat
Run 200
10 Jerk (any style)
Run 200

RX was 135/95# with a time cap of 18 minutes. I used 53#, a far cry from the RX, but finished in 14:13. This was only 15 seconds slower than my friend Shikha, who did the workout RX, but I still felt good. The runs were rough but not horrible. It felt good.

Today’s workout made me question whether it’s more beneficial to use heavier weights and have a slower time, or not finish at all, or use lighter weights and be able to keep pace with the rest of the group. Of course, this depends on the workout in question, so there isn’t a general rule. Mentally, it feels a hell of a lot better to be able to keep up with everyone, and this should provide a similar cardiovascular workout. But to gain strength? I’m not sure which is preferred.

What I really want is a time machine. Being able to fast forward two or three months, bypassing the initial weakness and struggle, would be amazing.

I finally have a recipe! But… no picture. Hey, I can’t be perfect. Don’t expect much of me.

The recipe is hardly a recipe. But for a quick and tasty weeknight meal, it was perfect.

Zucchini Noodle Bowl
1 zucchini
Some protein (I used chicken)
Nut butter of choice (I used a combo of almond and sunbutter)
Coconut Aminos
Fish Sauce

  1. Cook your protein. I sliced up my chicken and sauteed it in some coconut oil.
  2. Cut your zucchini into noodles using a julienne peeler (if you don’t own one, go buy one immediately).
  3. Put zucchini noodles into the pan and heat just long enough for them to soften to your desired consistency.
  4. Add your nut butter, coconut aminos, and fish sauce to the zucchini noodles and stir around. I used approximately 1/4 cup of nut butter, and a 3:1 ratio of coconut aminos to fish sauce (I just splashed some into the pan). I know, this isn’t exact at all, but it’s really just to taste.
  5. Add in your protein and heat until everything is warm. Enjoy!

Not the most elegant or exact recipe, but it was simple and tasty.

Leave a Reply

