Sticking to convictions

I have a tendency to make grand nutritional and exercise plans, with intense conviction at the beginning, and then slowly give up over the following days or, at most, a few weeks. It’s gotten to the point that whenever I say to my friends “I’m going on a Whole30” or “I’m going to actually eat clean paleo for a week” that they just laugh and mention how many times I’ve said the same thing before without any follow through. This happened again a few days ago, when I told my friend Shikha that I was going to eat clean paleo until I went home on Tuesday. She didn’t believe me (I wouldn’t believe me either), and no amount of “but actually“‘s could change her mind.

Funny thing is, I’m actually doing it this time. On Tuesday, June 18th, I decided that I would eat 100% clean until I went home for a 12 day vacation, knowing that once I was home my eating and exercise would be less than perfect (especially over a 2 day/3 night music festival I’m going to). I’ve been roughly tracking my food intake (what/when I ate, but not exact quantities or macro counts), and looking back at the last 4 days, I’m extremely happy.

A few caveats to the “100% clean” mantra. I have had a whey protein shake after every CrossFit workout, which is technically not paleo, but otherwise I wouldn’t be getting immediate post-workout nutrition. A few days, I’ve used Organic Valley grassfed skim milk (bad, but all they had at Whole Foods) with the protein powder. And one day I had some cheese. Yes, these are all not paleo choices (although they could almost be considered primal), so the paleo police can reprimand me for saying 100% when it’s not “true”. But the biggest thing for me in terms of these choices, and whether they fit in to 100% or not, is the mentality behind them. I used them primarily to fuel and recover from my CrossFit workouts, and the cheese was to up the fat/protein content of a lunch I packed when the fridge was looking bare. There wasn’t any sort of “I’m cheating” mentality, so I don’t consider them a cheat. Faulty logic? Maybe. But I feel good physically and mentally with how the last 4 days have gone.

I was out of town last weekend, but since then made it to CrossFit Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday. The two days of rest in between may have been a little overkill, but I’m airing on the side of more rest and more scaling than strictly necessary in order to avoid burnout and injury. I’m in this for the long haul, no need to go crazy right now.

Two nights ago, I made Paleo “Pad Thai” from CupcakesOMG’s blog. Holy shit, this was delicious. I’m a sucker for any sort of Thai dishes, especially ones involving peanut sauce, and this absolutely hit the spot. I used zucchini and carrots for the noodles, peeling them with a vegetable peeler to make wider noodles than I normally do with my Julienne peeler. Super easy, and created a great “noodley” base for the chicken and sauce. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures (I was starving and didn’t want to take the time to make it look pretty), but there are some nice ones over at the original recipe. If you haven’t already noticed, I have a love affair with zucchini noodles. If it’s possible to overdose on zucchini, let me know, because it may be a legitimate problem in my future.

My inventive soft boiled egg holders. Yes, I may be in college.

My inventive soft boiled egg holders. Yes, I may be in college.

Leave a Reply

